Escalations

Escalations drive Team Member accountability by triggering alerts and involving other Team Members in Conversations with overdue tasks.

Escalations are configured by a Super Admin. They can trigger based on no action (responded item) or no closure (conversation not archived) after a set period of time:

Team Member Experience

Pending Escalation

On a new event in a guest or customer's Conversation window, escalation rules are evaluated. The Team Member can either take action (in this case Respond to the guest with a message) or, in the case the issue was resolve in some other way (e.g. face to face or via phone call), the staff member can ‘Mark Resolved’ which has the same effect:

The resolved escalation is shown on the timeline:

Suppressing Escalations

Sometimes guests add many comments in quick succession. To prevent generating an escalation message for each of these comments, only a single escalation will be scheduled for each escalation rule at a given time. I.e., the same escalation rule cannot be actively scheduled at the same time.

After an escalation has been cancelled or has fired, it may be re-scheduled when a new guest message is added to the conversation.

Leave Conversation

If you have been escalated to a conversation and after it has been handled, you may want to remove yourself from the conversation. An option is presented above the conversation to leave the conversation. After clicking "Leave", you will no longer see the conversation in your inbox, nor will you receive notifications for it.

In cases when escalation conditions are reached again for the same instance (e.g., guest comments go unanswered), the conversation can be re-escalated and grant you visibility of the conversation once again.

If the user chooses to remain on the conversation after it has been escalated to them, the notifications that they will receive will depend on their personal notification settings. For example, they can choose to opt-out of comment notifications, but still receive notifications of escalations.

Creating and Deleting Escalations

To create an escalation, click on More in the top right-hand of the Location Admin interface and select Account Admin:

Select Facets and then Escalations:

Select the location you wish to create an escalation for:

Select your Escalation Trigger – No action or Not closed. Type in the number of minutes to escalate at, and select a user to be escalated to from the drop-down menu. Click Save Escalation.

To delete an escalation, click on the red "x".

Did this answer your question?